Joss Whedon

November 1, 2007

For those that don’t know, Joss Whedon (not Joe Sweden but that’s also a cool name) is the writer/producer/thinker upper behind Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel and my all-time favourite show-that-should-have-been Firefly.

Firefly is a hard one to explain to folk who’ve never seen it. To really appreciate the full pathos of the decision to cancel Firefly after only one season you have to really be a Buffy fan. Buffy fans know that the first season of Buffy was OK. The second season was better by far and that used up all the available storylines associated with the original pitch and the writers had to say “OK, what happens next” and that’s when the magic really started. Because they can write, and they care and they can make you laugh and make you really get angry with them and shake the TV set like a dog.

Bastards.

So anyone who knew that, and knew that season three of Buffy ROCKED and that season four was well cool and season five owned the world and that six and seven were fabulous and that the last episode was exactly right, knew that once the initial storyline of Firefly (psycho girl in box wakes up, kicks people a lot, re-writes history) was all done, we’d get on to the really cool stuff. The stuff they didn’t think too much about in the early episodes. Where does Book come from? What is that thing that looks like a suicide kit but isn’t that Inara takes out at one point. Will Wash ever knock up Zoe and how will she cope with that.

All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain. Sorry… slipped into an alternate universe there for a moment (or is it… Firefly is the spiritual successor to Blade Runner: discuss).

Instead we got ripped off. Totally. Damn you Fox, if you’re not already doomed.

There is good news though – Whedon has signed on to write/direct/produce/think up stuff for a new TV show: Dollhouse. Here’s a link to the interview. Fox, don’t fuck this one up, OK? Or we’ll come round and whup you upside the head with a cluestick.

7 Responses to “Joss Whedon”

  1. Kym Says:

    Minear is writing for it too! I might have to get somebody to tape this. It sounds good. Not as good as Firefly was but good.

  2. audent Says:

    Yeah, I’m not too sure about the premise, but then I think hey, Joss could direct The Phone Book and I’d show up with popcorn and I’d buy the DVD and I’d download it…

    Secretly I’m very glad he’s not doing Wonder Woman any more. Honestly, I’d have gone to see it and I’d have to have worn a disguise. Now the X-Men, that I could see him directing. Sadly, they’d munted the franchise. Ah well.

  3. Kym Says:

    Scifi geek http://scifitvgeek.wordpress.com/2007/11/01/whedon-returns-to-fox-with-new-show/ had me rolling by pointing out some comments on http://www.avclub.com/content/newswire/whedon_returns_to_fox

    Towards comment 10 or so I couldn’t stop laughing.

    Whedon in abusive relationship with Fox keeps coming back for more. Very snarky!

  4. audent Says:

    Fox, or Fuchs as I like to think of them (when I’m forced to think of them at all) really just don’t get the whole thing. I wonder why JW went back to them. Mind you, if I had a TV series I wanted to get made and only Faux was interested, I’d probably go there too… Must be a contractual thing.

  5. Kym Says:

    I read on a link at the Universal HD Firefly board that Whedon was chatting with the actress who played Faith when he came up with the idea for Dollhouse. They wanted to work together on the project and Apparently she has a contract with Fox.

  6. audent Says:

    Yeah, I came across that as well. Ah well, such is life I suppose. Better to have the series made than not. And they’ve bought seven episodes… maybe that bodes well. From what I hear they’ve had a change of staff/approach to new shows, so that’s good.

  7. Kym Says:

    I hear that they also agreed to air the shows in order. Always a plus;>


Leave a Reply

