Cricket! We hardly knew ye…

December 4, 2007

So poor Nicky’s poor dog poor Cricket (aka Hoarse) has been found.

Unfortunately, he washed up on the beach. Popped his clogs. Shuffled off this mortal coil. He’s dead. Deceased. Gone.

A nation mourns.

No, seriously. There are news stories about it.

Now I love dogs, don’t get me wrong. I’d have a pack at home but for a certain someone’s insane allergic response to dog hair. I’d be fencing the back yard and straight to the pound and I’d have a jack russel called Zap, a bull terrier called Arfa and anyone else who looked at me sideways.

I would not have a chihuahua or a chiwawa or a horse called cricket. No.

But I am sorry for Nicky. Mostly, I’m sorry for us for having to bear witness to Nicky being sad.

One Response to “Cricket! We hardly knew ye…”

  1. Mysterious Dave Mathers Says:

    Yep, sorry about Cricket being dead. Not that I met the beast. And I’m sure that Ms Watson is mourning the loss of a pet.

    But “household pet – dead” is not national news. Maybe a community circular could run such a story, if it’s the pet of some beloved Granny, at a stretch during a slow news month. But it is not national news.


Leave a Reply

