This one’s for you, David

February 21, 2008

aka Cricket Revisited.

Aka The Day the Story Died.

Here’s the video. I … can’t … say any more.

OK, just a wee bit more. Here’s my original rant and I have to say I see no signs of journalism in New Zealand recovering from it. The malady, not the rant that is.

The David Bain release was bad enough as far as journalism goes (nobody, not one of the country’s leading reporters, even hinted at asking “Why did you kill your family, David?” or even “Did you do it?”. Not one) but I feel the final nail was driven into the straw on the camel’s back with Cricket.

As it were.

Anyway, all I can really say, David (Slack, not Bain) is I went to join the revolution and all I got was a nasty case of sunburn! What’s that all about?

6 Responses to “This one’s for you, David”

  1. David Slack Says:

    I am deeply in your debt. I am also deeply red of face. This is what happens when a skinflint hack chooses the venue. Or should that be SkinFlinnish? Would another few umbrellas for that deck kill them? This is the hidden cost of cheap handles Juha.

  2. audent Says:

    Mind you, the afternoon is now indelibly etched, nay SCORCHED on my face. And I fear for my arteries… another run probably wouldn’t go amiss.

    Damn, now my readership’s doubled (heh) I’ll have to start blogging more regularly. Next up, why everyone should subscribe to Crikey and Why Haven’t We Got One Here?

  3. Juha Says:

    Dear me, are you not NZers? With pachyderm hides that’ll deflect ultraviolet light as well as cosmic rays?

    Cheap handles are all good sweet chur bro. I went into a bar in Eastbourne recently and ordered two pints of Stella. Not only did I not get two pints, but the piddly little glasses cost me eight bucks each. An outrage, I say.

  4. Juha Says:

    Did you see the titles?

    Nicky Watson
    Cricket’s mother

  5. audent Says:

    I am unsurprised that she actually birthed him (or perhaps whelped)… I’m just surprised it wasn’t televised.


  6. […] then, of course, thanks must go to both Cricket and to the otter, without whom […]


Leave a Reply

