STOP

February 29, 2008

what you’re doing and go At Once to this website and read a really cool horror story. Oh, you might want to put some time aside. Like nine solid hours, if the review is to be believed. I’m up to page two… there’s quite a bit to go. I’m only reading it in daylight hours for obvious reasons (that being I’m a scaredy cat).

It’s called John Dies at the End. Nice. It’s a piece of online writing that’s gone real world and is soon to be a movie.

Is publishing about to get thumped by the interweb as well? I see a Wellington outfit has sprung up that allows you to self publish.

Interesting times.

5 Responses to “STOP”

  1. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    I’m sorry Audent, I have too much to read already. I’ve got three Hammett novels (‘the Maltese Falcon’, ‘the Thin Man’, ‘Red Harvest’), and a stack of ‘Knights of the Dinner Table’ comics to get through. As Sam Spade is now investigating his way through two murders with the police breathing down his neck, I’d feel a louse to leave him. I figure the dame is trying to play him for a fool…

    Still, interesting development for online publications…

  2. audent Says:

    Patsy. The dame always plays you for a patsy.

    It’s the Continental Op I feel sorry for. No name, no harm, no foul.

    Of course, as we know, John dies in the end… so maybe I won’t read on.

  3. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    Patsy, here I was writing fool like some kind of sap. I understand Continental Op had no name, but he had a height and weight 5’6″, and 190lb.

    Maybe the author of “John dies at the end”, is all post-modern, and lied to the audience. Just when you thought you could be trusting…

    Tonight though, ‘Knights of the Dinner Table’.

  4. audent Says:

    The Knights are very very good… a little TOO good. Wince inducing if it’s not handled correctly.

    and now I’ve strained my brain reading on the screen too much. Dammit.

  5. audent Says:

    And for those that need to know John… well…

    it’s complicated.


Leave a Reply

