Wall*E

March 13, 2008

I’m enjoying the trailers for Pixar’s new movie Wall*E quite a bit. Check it out here for a taste.

I recommend watching the trailers in order, because Pixar is building up to something quite unusual I would think. A lead character that does not talk. Nice.

I’m also enjoying how the early trailers for Wall*E and The Bee Movie employ the song Brazil. It’s interesting because the song is now so completely linked in my mind with comic dystopian nightmares thanks to Terry Gilliam’s fabulous film and not with a large South American country at all. It certainly doesn’t make me think of the samba.

Gilliam is, of course, the only American to produce a movie that deals with time travel in a sensible manner. It doesn’t go well but is one of my favourite films.

4 Responses to “Wall*E”

  1. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    What I notice about the use of ‘Brazil’ in movies is that after Gilliam, alot of directors pick it up as a tune to demonstrate industrious activity, usually to little actual purpose. Which, oddly enough was one of the prime uses Gilliam made of the tune in his movie.

    So, maybe more people than just yourself link that tune to dystopian nightmares now. I actually like it as a tune in itself.

    When you wrote that Gilliam is.. ‘the only American to produce a movie that deals with time travel in a sensible manner.’ I had to check you weren’t talking about ‘Time Bandits’.

  2. audent Says:

    my cunning ploy to drive traffic… make you click that link.


  3. So, enough about this. What is Joss Whedon doing at the moment, and will he be finished it soon? I just assumed you would know because you have Joss Whedon, Buffy, and Firefly in your tag cloud.

  4. Audent Says:

    I do, actually. It’s a show called Dollhouse and basically (as far as I can tell) it’s an updated version of Joe 90 crossed with Alias but with Faith the Other Vampire Slayer in the lead roll as an agent who retains some memories after she’s been wiped.

    Should be entertaining and I for one welcome him back to the small screen instead of doing Wonder Woman writ large. I’d rather see 20 episodes followed by another 20 than one two hour epic. But that’s just me.


Leave a Reply

