Google goes offline

April 1, 2008

Do you ever get that chill down the back of your neck when you realise something major is happening? Must be a fight/flight response deeply rooted in the lizard brain. Or just the aircon, I’m not sure which.

Google has just announced it will begin allowing users to edit documents without needing to be connected to the internet. Next time you’re online your system will automatically connect and update.

That sound you can hear is the sound of Microsoft dropping out of the IT market so fast all its products just turned red (or is it blue, I can never remember).

Soon you’ll need only one application on your PC – a web browser – and you’ll never need to buy Office ever again. Forget all that functionality you never use or need (If I want to publish a word document as HTML I’ll use an HTML editor, thanks), being able to instantly back up everything you produce and access it from any machine is a far more compelling notion.

Besides, the reviews of Vista are so poor that it’s beyond a joke. On top of that, I see there are new file formats and I’ve had a couple of documents sent to me that I can’t open with the previous edition of Word. Didn’t Microsoft learn that customers hate that already? Yes, yes they did. Those two things combined with Google turning up the heat might just make it easier for customers to make that giant leap of faith and do away with MS Office altogether. From there it’s a small step to asking why you need Vista at all and from there… well, it’s all over red rover.

5 Responses to “Google goes offline”

  1. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    Redshift, if it is falling away from us. Blueshift if it is falling on us.

    I’m a bit slow with them fancy light boxes and all. Explain to me again, how does a change in editing documents online by google get rid of all other applications in time.

  2. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    No need to explain. My wife read my comment, and explained Google documents to me. (That’s right girls, Mysterious Dave Mather is off the market. I know you would have all been wondering about me; with the way I’m so mysterious and everything.)

    Apparently, my wife work has been experimenting with using Google for document sharing.

  3. Audent Says:

    Aside from the obvious mental deficiencies (she married you… clearly not right in the head) she’s clearly a woman who Knows Her Docs.

    Having things technical explained to oneself by one’s wife. Tsk Tsk Tsk.

  4. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    It was either be told by my wife, or read a posting on the ‘New Zealand herald’ website. And as said before, I will not add to its viewership.

    It may interest you to know that Mrs Mysterious Dave Mather found out I didn’t know about Google documents by reading my post on this site. So she is one of your visitors.

  5. audent Says:

    wooh! more traffic. Catering to the poorly betrothed is clearly my niche.

    Waves. Waves again.

    Feel free to post a comment or two. And stay for a while, check the place out. Try the veal.

    I’ll be here all week.


Leave a Reply

