Yeah nah

April 7, 2008

I need that on a t-shirt I think. Yeah, nah. It’s a Kiwi thing (or is it?) and I love it. I use it whenever I can. I have no idea what it means.

I’ve got a lot of ideas for t-shirts and given the lousy state of the t-shirt market I should probably do something about it, but I have a bad case of the CBAs (can’t be arsed).

I went looking for “The Angels have the phone box” because, well why wouldn’t you? But I couldn’t find a decent t-shirt without a goofy graphic to go with it. Same goes for “shiny” or “I’ll be in my bunk” or any of the other half dozen t-shirts I’d like.

I also didn’t win the big lotto draw this weekend so there’s little/no chance of me engaging in my favourite game of “I know I’m rich because I can buy any t-shirt I like” and hitting the world up for an “old school” t-shirt, a Handy Towels’ t-shirt (“thick strong and thirsty”) and anything else that springs to mind.

There’s a chap here in the office who has the best collection of t-shirts I’ve ever seen but I haven’t approached him yet about his supplier. He’s like some kind of guru of t-shirts and I’m but an acolyte so I’ll have to work my way up the food chain before making my move.

I think he gets them from this site which is my new homepage. Sorry, honey, the kids will have to go without shoes this year.

T-shirts I want:

Yeah, nah

oma rapiti

I’m gonna tell on you (and on the back, Tell Tell Tell) (thanks to youngest daughter for that one)

The angels have the phone box (of course)

Can’t be arsed (well, I can’t)

CLM (and on the back or somewhere else, Career Limiting Move)

there are others but I’m too slack to be bothered writing them down so they drift in and out of my brain.

And then there’s this video (courtesy Karen in Melbourne) which should have its own TV show, let alone t-shirt. Enjoy.

7 Responses to “Yeah nah”

  1. Miss Moon Says:

    My fav t-shirt is black with the friendly, or angry, or irritable, or any other emotion I wish to convey of simply “whatever!”. It says it all for me. 🙂

  2. karen Says:

    http://stuffwhitepeoplelike.wordpress.com/2008/03/07/84-t-shirts/

    I know I sent you the link to stuff white people like over the weekend, it’s ironic and wonderful…and white people really like t shirts. Your niece is quietly aquiring far too many t shirts, she is somewhere up around the 40 mark.

    Karen in Melbourne

  3. audent Says:

    Forty shirts? Four Tee? I’m outraged. Outraged, of Mount Roskill. I’m still wearing tech wreck t-shirts from a decade ago.

    hardly seems fair you know.

  4. Andrew Says:

    Well I’m Australian and it’s been doing the rounds here for a while (see http://www.smartlyrics.com/Song635366-Muph-_Plutonic-Comfort-Zone-lyrics.aspx) for an example of a song from 2006 featuring ‘Yeah Nah’). I thought it was a uniquely Australian thing, but now I discover that our friends across the Tasman are saying it as well! How interesting. I wonder if someone can get to the bottom of this and sort out which country it started in, and which subculture (from a quick google search it seems to be particularly prevalent in the NZ car culture?)

  5. Andrew Says:

    I also love the wonderful variations that arise, such as “yeah-nah-yeah”, “yeah-yeah-nah” etc.

  6. audent Says:

    I love how Kiwis expand on it to get “yeah but nah but yeah but nah”. Cracks me up endlessly.

  7. Minnesota Dave Says:

    I’ve always liked http://shirt.woot.com/

    They ship to Australia too.


Leave a Reply

