The secret history of Star Wars

May 23, 2008

I’m unsure whether to recommend this book or not. So far I’ve only read the first 50-odd pages.

It’s a history not only of the Star Wars phenomenon but also of the changes to the storyline as it’s developed over the years and it certainly resonates with me.

I remember clearly going to see Star Wars for the first time. It was a simpler time and a much simpler movie. The changes that followed were… well, odd. Even my teenage brain could see something wasn’t quite right. Add into the mix the whole Prequel disaster (yes, George, I know it made oodles of money. Was that the point?) and the disquiet grows.

The book really does a good job of getting to the bottom of that.

But it’s 500 pages long. Five Hundreds Pages. On Star Wars. Seriously.

So read it and weep – love it or hate it your eyes won’t be thankful.

5 Responses to “The secret history of Star Wars”

  1. um no Says:

    Unfortunately, the author’s writing style is rambling and awkward. The text is filled with grammatical errors, enough to be distracting, and the whole thing is in dire need of an editor’s red pen.

  2. audent Says:

    It is a bit isn’t it… I like the idea though. And I’m a fan of the degree of work put in to disproving the myth that Lucas came up with a giant three-act movie and decided to chop it into three smaller pieces. That’s just a lie.

    Mind you, I’m only up to the start of Part Two and already I’m waning.

    Does make me want to watch Star Wars again though. The real one, where Han shoots first and the Death Star explodes cleanly and there’s no Jabba scene repeating the earlier one in the cantina. And of course I don’t have that one on DVD because Lucas insists the new one is better.

    Oh well.

  3. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    In hindsight, I should have realised that Lucas lost me at the Ewoks, and I should never have went back. So part of me just doesn’t want to know more about George Lucas.

    But another part of me does want to know. What went wrong (other than I got older).

    Does that make me crazy?

  4. audent Says:

    Yeah but no but yeah.
    Reading this thing has at least let me know just how weird Lucas is and that the whole “I have a dream” thing is nonsense. Instead, he had a business plan, and a shonky one at that.

    Basically he wanted to do Flash Gordon but couldn’t buy the rights. So he did this instead. There was no grand story he wanted to tell, there was no nine-movie tale that needed better technology before he could deliver. There was just the “Let’s do Flash Gordon” and an urge to make a Saturday morning kids show kind of movie… which isn’t a bad thing in itself, so why hide it?

  5. Guantanamo Says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Guantanamo!


Leave a Reply

