Getting a little bit crafty

June 13, 2008

Every Friday morning, Wammo and I have a good chat about technology. Somehow I always manage to get Doctor Who in there and generally we talk turkey on things like field programmable gate arrays and wave division multiplexing. Well, as much as you can on commercial radio (which is quite a lot!).

Today we talked about knitting. Yes, knitting. What’s it to you? Come over here and say that!

And so, to the link fest… There sure are a lot of homespun crafty types out there on the tubes and they all have blogs and sites and forums (fora?) galore. No editorial endorsements or anything like that, just a load o’ links. (OK, maybe just a touch of editorialising. I can’t help myself)

Craftzine has forums, projects, plans, a link to a magazine, you name it.

The Black Apple wins points for its slightly macabre site. Think Suicide Girls for the crochet set.

Something’s Hiding in Here wins for the best name.

Kitty Genius loses points for reinforcing the “people who stay in and crochet love cats” meme, but wins points for having a bloke with a beard on the front page.

Poppy Talk has stuff my daughters would probably like.

Design Sponge looks eerily like Poppy Talk (both Blogspot themes perhaps).

Felt is quite cool and I like its catchy tag line: “Felt, like something different”. Nice.

Pink Paper Pinafore has a nice tiki.

Etsy is the Trade Me of the craft world by the look of it (and has stuff for Father’s Day which I would browse should I have the time).

Toggle has bags made out of old billboards… Do me one that can take a laptop and I’m there, I’m so there. And isn’t ‘toggle’ just a lovely word.

South Seas Knitting could tell a woolly yarn or two I warrant. Swab that swarthy sea dog, you … swarthy … sea dog.

And finally, Slip Slip Knit does a good line in yarn-related puns, but also shows how to fix a wool break in pictures, which is nice.

Leave a Reply

