I went to a disco

June 14, 2008

This was at my youngest daughter’s kindergarten – average age, oh about four I would say (lots of older siblings along).

And they’re just like I remember them.

The boys stood off to one side at the beginning. There was strange drink served at ridiculous prices. Everyone had glow sticks. There is always some mad woman dancing by herself in the middle of the floor, waving a cocktail glass around (this one did double duty in that it had flashing LEDs in the stem).

The music was slightly too loud and it was insanely hot in there.

There was even a bowl of pills on the way in (don’t worry, I’m pretty sure they were vitamins, unless E comes in animal shapes now) to really get the kids in the mood. (just joking. Just.)

The music really hasn’t changed much either, although the addition of High Five’s greatest hits mixed in with Boney M and ABBA was a tad disconcerting. My daughters just rolled their eyes and said “Oh, Dad” in the way of the daughter.

Good times were had by all. Except the boys who tried to encourage my daughter (six) to run around outside. For them, bad times. Bad bad times. For them and all their ilk.

7 Responses to “I went to a disco”

  1. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    Just like the school dances I remember, except for the glow sticks.

    ABBA and Boney M would be so old to a six year old as to be incomprehensible to imagine the barbaric time from which they came(what is it since they came out, 30 years?) So I’m wondering what she was rolling her eyes at? High Five, which she may have heard of, but felt to old for, or one of the 70s tunes which she may know nothing of at all.

    As an uncomfortable aside. My wife frequents a certain web site discussion forum, packed with topics of interest to mothers. One of the more light hearted discussion threads she once informed me was on the topic of “Which member of High Five would you do, and why?”

    Until then, I had never even thought about it…

  2. audent Says:

    Kathleen.

    sorry, but seriously. Kathleen’s exercise time (series one) is a classic of exercise. and breathlessness. and, apparently, bralessness as well.

  3. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    Wow, you’ve already thought about it. I never had, perhaps because my kids were more fans of the Wiggles. But still, that was a fast response.

    Still, that is the sort of speed I would have expected if I had asked “Who would you do in ‘Firefly’?”

  4. audent Says:

    Oh that’s easy. Simon. No question.

    No wait… dammit, it’s Zoe isn’t it?

    damnit!

    Mind you, the dread Mrs Reynolds was purty…

    no, I’m pretty set on Simon.

  5. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    The man in the waist coat for you then, and he’s a doctor too! All in all, I can see why you went for Simon.

    And he is the character least likely to cause people to die when you are out together in public.

  6. Audent Says:

    Just pretend Mrs Dave isn’t reading…

    and tell all. You’re clearly a Kaylee fellow. I can tell. It’s the hippy flowers all over the mess area.

  7. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    I think Mrs Dave would be keen on Mal, or Jayne. Jayne makes her laugh…

    If I knew I was going to live through the event, and if I was a single man, it would be our Mrs Reynolds. That Biblical quotation of her’s was certainly convincing on the matter. Still, as I’m married, I’m going to have to plead the “Wash” defence on this one.


Leave a Reply

