Doctors, eh?

June 18, 2008

Can’t live with them, not legally allowed to hunt them out of season.

Honestly, I know they have a tough job but they can make life HELLISH some days.

I think I’ve mentioned before (but I’m too lazy to look it up) about a French restaurant owner who refused to visit a doctor but who was getting progressively worse and worse (all the good things – heart, kidneys, liver, all packing up). His friends arranged some kind of Gallic equivalent of an intervention and told him they’d be back in the morning to take him to a doctor, by force if necessary.

They found him sitting in his restaurant, half a bottle of red on the table, a revolver in his hand, stone cold dead.

Probably it’s bullshit but…

Some days I think that’s the best way to treat the medical fraternity.

3 Responses to “Doctors, eh?”

  1. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    Okay, what has the medical fraternity done recently? It isn’t that I doubt you: I spent a year getting over a phobia of house surgeons created by meeting a few of them. But I feel there is a story inside this story.

    P.S. please don’t shoot yourself at your kitchen table.

  2. Audent Says:

    There is, but it’s not my story… this time!

    So the Child gets taken to the doctor who does a thumb prick test and says “Holy Shit, your Child has Diabetes! Take Her At Once to the Hospital For Further Tests!”.

    And the blood test comes back negative and the doctor says “does she eat rasisin?” and the parent says “why yes, yes she does” and the doctor says “next time I’ll swab the thumb as she may have raisin residue on her thumb thus giving us a false ‘wowwee sugar’ score on the thumb prick test. Sorry about that, she’s fine.”

    As a parent (Dave Jnr, Lil Dave) I know you’ll appreciate the panic between the first test and the second.

  3. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    I certainly do, if either Lil’ Dave or Davey-Boy incurred a “Go straight to hospital, do not pass GO” warning I’d be in a mighty panic. Even after I got told things are fine, I’d be worried that some smartie-pantsed white-cloaked clown stuffed up the second test.

    ‘Cause they can.


Leave a Reply

