The Hippo…

June 18, 2008

Someone found this blog by searching for “old hippodrome on henblas street” so welcome, whoever you are.

Not sure what state the theatre’s in at the moment but I found Arthur’s blog with some photos and a bit of history.

I remember that part of town quite well, now I’ve thought about it a bit. There were two huge indoor markets in the area that I remember my grandma taking me to. One of her buddies worked in one of them on some stall or other and I recall spending many a lazy morning looking around the place waiting while they chatted on.

To a small boy the halls were big enough to be the biggest rooms I’d ever been in. Easily larger than a school hall, tall and airy with birds flying around and (might not be right here) beautiful plaster work around the edges (what is that, fret work? what do you call it on interiors of buildings?).

I believe they were torn down years ago but maybe someone can enlighten me.

I hope they do something with the Hippodrome. It was great fun.

Leave a Reply

