Sammidges

July 22, 2008

This is how I make a ham sandwich.

Ingredients:

Ham (I like champagne ham, thick cut)
Bread (how does one say ciabata? is it “chow batta” or “see ya batta”? I never know).
Butter (well strictly speaking it should be cholesterol reducing marge but meh).
Wholegrain mustard.

Method:
Slap butter on bread, coat with mustard, add ham. Cut in half, eat.

This is how my wife makes a ham sandwich:

NGREDIENTS
Enough for approximately 30 to 40 bite size sandwiches

12oz (325g) best quality, thinly sliced ham
1 loaf brown bread, thin-sliced
1 stick (4oz) unsalted butter at room temperature
1 level dessertspoon wholegrain mustard
2 scallions (spring onions) very finely sliced
2oz (50g) Parmig1ano Reggiano shavings
salt and freshly milled black pepper

METHOD

* In a mixing bowl, cream together the butter, mustard and sliced scallions. Season to taste with salt and freshly milled black pepper.

* Spread one side of each slice of bread with the butter.

* Cover each side of half of the bread slices with a layer of the thinly sliced ham. Sprinkle over the parmesan shavings and season with a little freshly milled black pepper.

* Lay a slice of buttered bread over the top of each sandwich and press down lightly.

* Trim the crusts off each sandwich. Now cut them into either 3 rectangles, 4 triangles, 4 squares or 4 octagonals (squares with the corners trimmed off).

* Arrange the sandwiches neatly on a serving platter and garnish lightly with sprigs of watercress. Serve immediately.

This is not to say I dislike when my wife makes me a sammidge. Hardly! But I now weigh close to 300lbs and I can’t account for it.

Love you, honey.

5 Responses to “Sammidges”

  1. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    I thought you were 300lb because of all the pies…

  2. audent Says:

    I’ll have you know I’m one week into a training regime that will see me run half a marathon on or around my birfday… unless I feel unwell or can’t be bothered.

  3. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    Good Lord! A birthday this year? But doesn’t your birthday fall in the middle of Boozetember? How could your training survive?

  4. audent Says:

    My training will have to pause briefly… failing that, my ability to lunch will be severely compromised and I will end up being sick into a silver champagne bucket (seen it happen to a journo) while someone keeps my hair out of my … eyes.

  5. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    Who’s hair? And if it is yours, your hair from where? Not from the top of your head obviously.

    Eyebrows?


Leave a Reply

