Today I became a man

August 25, 2008

I know, it’s a bit late in the piece… It’s been a long journey from boyhood through adolescence and teenagerness and through being a father, but now I am complete. Today I took ownership of my own beer fridge.

Beer fridges, for those that don’t know, are about half the height of a normal refrigerator and are generally plugged in somewhere other than the kitchen. Mine is in the basement.

Currently it has no beer in it, just my wife’s chardonnay. I said I was a man, not that I wasn’t hen-pecked.

Now to lose my hair, but grow some more in my ears, and put on a big pot belly. I shall continue to wear inappropriate jeans and to consider myself “just north” of 25, but hey, those days are long gone.

I shall also begin sleeping 23 hours a day in front of the fire, getting up only to go to bed.

Bliss.

4 Responses to “Today I became a man”

  1. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    So, where have you put the new fridge:

    -Beside the piano?
    -Under the piano?
    -On top of the piano?

  2. audent Says:

    in the basement, next to the guinea pigs!

    And the mouse. Currently I have a mouse. I might blog about Himself.

  3. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    We’ve had a mouse. Be warned, if the trap goes off over night you may well have to dispose of the corpse before morning, when the kids come and ask awkward questions like:

    “Is that the mouse?”
    “What’s his name?”
    “Why isn’t he moving?”

  4. audent Says:

    Yes, we’ve had the discussion about the Mouse that Isn’t Staying…

    fortunately Younger Daughter is deeply interested in death at the moment. Every story concludes with “And then he DIED!” which is odd, given that most have happy endings.


Leave a Reply

