Twitter

September 8, 2008

I’ve signed up for Twitter, against my wishes (darn you, web team and your eagerness, darn you!).

I’m not enjoying it.

It’s like being in a loud party with lots of people shouting over the top of each other.

I remember back in the day (1999) being involved in a live online Q&A about the millennium bug. A question would come in and while I was typing my response (70wpm) another six questions would come in, along with a couple of pseudo-answers and cross-questions from other people. I’d reply and there would be a flurry of “what was that?” and clarification posts and then it would start over again.

Twitter is like that.

I may be too old for it, but I just find it irritating. But now I’m stuck with it.

Am I doing it wrong?

5 Responses to “Twitter”


  1. I was on it for a couple of months.

    Most of the people I ‘followed’ lived in Wellington, they’d go on about buses, muffins, cocktails, etc, etc, having a high old time. Aucklanders… not so much. It must be hard to Twitter and drive I guess.

    Wound up closing my account – it just took up too much time in the end.

  2. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    I know you think me a Luddite, and the answer may be obvious, but how does the web team think Twitter is going to improve your productivity?

  3. supervery Says:

    i think twitter is like early blogs, people posting links & their life both work & personal.

    the other big thing is the whole asking questions, remember how we used to ask questions on blogs and have debates and answers, well that seems to have transferred into the twitter world

  4. audent Says:

    Oh it’s not about productivity, it’s about having a new comms channel to talk to people through. The more touch points the better. Email, TXT, letters, website, forum, Twitter, voice calls…

    We’re a communications company. We should be trying these things but damned if I know what the point of Twitter is! I used to use ICQ as a management tool and was roundly told off for it, but I could run a team spread over three cities and do so seamlessly using instant messaging – much better than having team meetings that left out half the team.

  5. audent Says:

    @supervery I know what you mean… blogs may well be old hat but I prefer them to the high noise ratio I get with Twitter.

    But I am old now so maybe that’s it. It’s like Facebook – I gave that away as being more conversation/shouting than I cared for.

    Turn the damned noise down and stay off my lawn! Pesky kids.


Leave a Reply

