OK. I’ll go watch it.

November 16, 2008

It might be gone by the time you see this but for now, this is the bootleg of the trailer for Star Trek 90210. I’d see it just for Scotty, but I’ll definitely see it for Uhura, Bones and Spock. Kirk is, as ever, over the top. But then, that’s Kirk I suppose. Scotty sounds Glaswegian, like he’s going to nut someone. I really like that.

EDIT: HD version of the trailer here in about ten hours.

13 Responses to “OK. I’ll go watch it.”

  1. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    Actually, that trailer has just got me excited about the franchise. Could have been the drum beat.

    So going to see it.

  2. BisonBalls Says:

    Cracking. I can’t wait!

    Looking forward to Spock being young and hard to manage. Surely he will use the old Vulcan nerve pinch to great effect on unsuspecting females in the old starfleet academy 🙂

    Dodgy Vulcan

  3. audent Says:

    Uhura! Uhura! Uhura!

  4. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    It promises to be the best of the franchise since ‘GalaxyQuest’, at the very least.

  5. audent Says:

    What was that awful movie from the 90s… Space Pirates? Ice Pirates?

    They find the princess… she’s asleep – in stasis of some kind. The hero gazes on her reverentially. Clearly he’s smitten. He gently revives her by pulling up her shirt and taking a peek under the hood.

    classic.

  6. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    I think you are trying to remember ‘Ice Pirates’. A 1984 movie which “starred” Robert Urich in the worse flick I ever saw that tried to cash in on the post-Star Wars Sci-Fi boom.

    And yes, I did see ‘Battle beyond the stars’…

  7. audent Says:

    BBTS is LEGENDARY and I’ll not hear a word against it. The Magnificent Seven in space. Even had Robert wotsit in the same role!

    how can you go wrong?

  8. BisonBalls Says:

    What was that one where the kid plays the video game and gets a high score and a space ship comes and picks him up? A bit low on detail but I can’t remember much after that.

  9. BisonBalls Says:

    I found it…. the last starfighter.
    Hardly a classic but one I remember from way back.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Last_Starfighter

    I also recall Saturn 3 and Outland which I thought were pretty good at the time.

  10. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    Sorry BisonBalls, I can’t recall that one’s title, vaguely remember it but never saw it.

    Hmmm, from your vigourous defence of ‘Battle beyond the stars’ Audent I guess you haven’t seen it for about three decades. I challenge you to find it, view it, and then write an honest review.

    Or better yet, save your pennies for the ‘Star Trek’, and forget such other movies.

    Oh, by the way, Robert Vaughn was playing the same character as in Magnificent Seven. The characters were so similar he could have been wearing the same costume…

  11. audent Says:

    Robert Vaughan… that’s him.

    I actually think he WAS wearing the same costume.

    And JohnBoy from The Waltson. And wossname from The A Team.

    Pure rubbish. All class though.

  12. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    Come to think of it ‘Battle beyond the stars’ was the first film I ever saw that I knew was refering to a different film.

    It could be the film buff in you that likes it.

  13. audent Says:

    It sure wasn’t the acting, that’s for sure. Or the story. Or the characters. Or the plot. Or the SFX. Or the direction.


Leave a Reply

