I Have Seen Dollhouse

December 5, 2008

Well, I haven’t, but that’s the title of the first online review I’ve seen (hattip: aintitcool.com).

First, the good news. The reviewer is a seasoned Joss fan.

Unfortunately, it doesn’t sound like the premise stacks up.

Now the minus. Dollhouse as conceived (a heroine plays a different “person” every week) is less a series concept than an actress’ showcase, a sort of extreme version of an Alias undercover premise.

However, it ends well:

If it weren’t for Whedon’s pedigree, I’m not sure I’d be dying to see a second episode. But for me, the main draw now is not seeing Dushku become a different person every week, but getting to see Joss Whedon become a different writer every week.

So we’ll have to wait and see.

One Response to “I Have Seen Dollhouse”

  1. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    Actually, I think the major story arch of the three seasons is going to be the emergence of a soul in the operative, which goes across all the inprintations.

    But that’s just me.

    Given it is Whedon, the major story arch could be ‘Short young woman kicks a lot of arse!’


Leave a Reply

