Disney: one hit wonder?

April 21, 2009

I have nearly all the Disney films (well, the ones they’ve deemed acceptable to release, and no I’m not talking about the six hundred remakes masquerading as sequels, I’m looking at you Lion King II, III, IV, V, VI, VII (not VIII), IX and X).

However I’ve always been struck by, well, the similarities.. Baloo is a knock off of Little John and so on. Sure, the voices are double ups, but some of the scenes seemed altogether too… familiar.

Apparently, I’m not alone.

And I can’t embed it. What is with that? So, link here to Disney made one movie.

It’s actually quite hard in places to identify which movie the clip is from because it could be from just about any!

On the one hand you’ve got to congratulate them for making the most out of their resources (some say “sweating the assets” but I like to think of the buffalo herds when I consider making the most of what’s available) but on the other… this seems quite extreme.

I remember reading about the early Star Trek films and how they reused the same chunks of footage over and over. Oh how proud they were of their cleverness, oh how tired and dull some of the scenes looked.

Leave a Reply

