Piano II

July 8, 2009

As regular readers (Hi Mom) know, I bought a piano.

It’s an old piano. It has an awful tone. It has sticky keys. It hasn’t been tuned since before The Turn of the Century.

As pianos go, it’s pretty average.

I love it. It’s my piano. I own a piano. I have a piano in my lounge. There’s no room for it, and we don’t have a stool, and currently it’s no more than piece of furniture. But it’s my piano. I can see it … if I crane my neck a little.

I feel better having a piano. I can’t explain it but I do.

Oh, I can’t play it, but that doesn’t matter. I can pick out tunes, one handed. What I want to do, however, is play this:

It’s one of the finest Jazz pieces I know and look, it’s so easy you can play it in splints!

But wait, as they say, there’s more.

For the beauty that is the You Tubes has given me: piano lessons by video. Hence:

and that leads me on to other simple pieces of music with which to wow and boggle my family.

So, thanks You Tube, hat tip Shawn Cheek Easy and thank you my piano.

You know where all this is leading, right?

5 Responses to “Piano II”

  1. vavroom Says:

    I just *love* snoopy theme’s music 🙂 I have a version of it with/by Wynton Marsalis. Great stuff 🙂

    I think I’ll let you practice a bit before I ask you to do a recital for me 🙂

  2. Ben Kepes Says:

    Good work – there’s a (freshly tuned) piano sitting in our lounge and every person in the household (to varying degrees) uses it.

    Playstation? iPod? Vidoes? Meh – if music be the food of love, play on

  3. audent Says:

    That’s an awful t-shirt! I’ve ordered two.

    Was tuning the piano much of a drama? I wonder if this one will fall apart under the performance pressure…

    I quite like it’s mistones but the sticky keys could well go by the by…


Leave a Reply

