I hate TV ads

July 28, 2009

I really do. They get in the way, they’re usually too stupid for words (Auckland Glass will never see a dollar of mine. Never) and they get muted the minute they appear.

And yet, a good TV ad is really good. The UK has some of the best, and I’ve chucked a bunch of good ones in here (bunnies!).

This irks me. How can I find ads that I actually enjoy? Is it just the comparison with crap ads that makes them enjoyable? I even like the Fold ad that Vodafone produced:

(we’ll claim it as a local ad even though it was thought up by a couple of Poms and filmed in Australia. It’s as Kiwi as I am) and the bit I really like is that the whole thing hinges on the actor’s ability to do sleight of hand and so drop the things he folded without making it obvious he was doing that. Brilliant – without him, the ad would suck.

Fair Go did a piece on the making of the Fold ad which you can watch here.

I don’t know what Spike sells but I do like these ads.

Enjoy.

8 Responses to “I hate TV ads”

  1. Robyn Says:

    That fold ad creeps me out a bit because the man’s treating the woman like she’s another one of his posessions. Where’s her smartphone?

  2. Scotty B Says:

    As Kiwi as you are? Aren’t you some kind of Welsh/English import?

  3. Scotty B Says:

    Oh wait…that’s your point isn’t it.

  4. audent Says:

    I like James Griffin’s take on it in the back of the Sunday paper… it’s actually an existential horror story where a man breaks into a woman’s apartment and steals all her belongings before finally… stealing her as well!

    (alternate answer: She doesn’t get a smart phone. She’s not allowed to use the remote, let alone have that kind of control!)

  5. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    When you are watching series on DVD, there are no ads. I’ve found it nice not to have: the dramatic flow of programmes broken by an ad break, or; scenes cut out to fit more ads, or; being forced to watch dramatic statements to the effect that my life is incomplete/in-danger because I haven’t brought, or subscribed to, this or that.

    And the strange woman-stealing bloke creeped me out as well.

  6. Mysterious Dave Mather Says:

    Darth Vader golf is my favourite.

  7. audent Says:

    The force is strong in him.


Leave a Reply

