I’m unsure whether to recommend this book or not. So far I’ve only read the first 50-odd pages.

It’s a history not only of the Star Wars phenomenon but also of the changes to the storyline as it’s developed over the years and it certainly resonates with me.

I remember clearly going to see Star Wars for the first time. It was a simpler time and a much simpler movie. The changes that followed were… well, odd. Even my teenage brain could see something wasn’t quite right. Add into the mix the whole Prequel disaster (yes, George, I know it made oodles of money. Was that the point?) and the disquiet grows.

The book really does a good job of getting to the bottom of that.

But it’s 500 pages long. Five Hundreds Pages. On Star Wars. Seriously.

So read it and weep – love it or hate it your eyes won’t be thankful.